Mr kecker and Dickie Scruggs

Originally posted here: http://nmisscommentor.com/law/sam-haskell-buys-movie-rights-to-fall-of-the-house-of-zeus/

Sam Haskell buys movie rights toFall of the House of Zeus

Sam Haskell, now an Oxford resident and previously the head of the television division of the William Morris Agency, has bought the movie rights to Curtis Wilkie’s Fall of the House of Zeus, according to this story in Variety:

Former WMA TV topper Sam Haskell is going to court, acquiring film and TV rights to Curtis Wilkie’s tome “The Fall of the House of Zeus: The Rise and Ruin of America’s Most Powerful Trial Lawyer.”…

Haskell’s memoir “Promises I Made My Mother” was published last year. He’s had book signings in more than 100 cities and traveled to Afghanistan to take the book to U.S. soldiers through the Department of Defense.

My comment, posted on his site, having read the advanced copy is:

cynthia Jeanne Lee MD

I read the advance copy of Curtis Wilkie’s book. I was struck by the fact Dickie Scruggs had back to back back surgeries, within 60 days. I have never heard of anyone having back surgery twice in such a short time frame in my short twenty two years of active practice (except patients with infections).  Could the physician have deliberately hurt him in order to set him up for drug addiction? Mr. Scruggs used to take medical malpractice cases. The insurance companies are devious. In Texas, they used the physicians to help lobby the public to get a change in the state constitution to get a cap on punitive damages. I believe they would be capable of leaning on a physician to help them out since Mr. Scruggs was such a feared litigator. Anyone could have been rendered susceptible to narcotics abuse with sufficient medical mismanagement. Anyone under the influence, as Mr. Wilkie suggested he was by every afternoon, could have made an inaccurate or careless statement.

Dickie Scrugg’s son, also a lawyer, got caught up in this case, went to prison, and lost his license. He has subsequently discovered that his own attorney was cooperating with the prosecution behind his back. he is suing for a reversal of the conviction.

I went by the office of his defense attorney and left information that this physician was baffled about why his addiction issues were not explored and addressed first.

Image

3 responses

  1. Thanks, Cynthia. Or is that Cynthia Jeanne? You’re addressing very deep issues. Give ’em hell!

    http://www.greenroads.blog.com

    Date: Fri, 20 Sep 2013 22:26:59 +0000 To: sweetdango@hotmail.com

    Cynthia replies: You caught me! I’m Jeanne! However, only my family and friends used that….when someone called my office and demanded to speak with Cynthia…then my staff knew ….that person didn’t know me very well (and there was probably a patient chart to be found or a salesperson to be interviewed by staff)….now I use Cynthia because all legal records are in that name and it would be confusing to look up my medical license, for example, using Jeanne Lee (Texas F6869). However, when I was in the FBI offices in Austin Tx asking for an investigation of mail fraud having been performed to frame me so the government had a reason for surveillance (while I was suing the government and two insurance corporations!)….the agent who came in called me “Jeannie”…and that did not sit well with me….in the South one addresses another adult by their sir name, as in Ms Lee or, even better, Doctor Lee to show respect. Since then, I’ve used Cynthia on my travels to be consistent on what name I gave to all the new people I met. The activists I have been around are frequently too freaked out (for good reasons)because of government harassment and entrapment actions, violating their first amendment rights. Since my physical appearance has changed somewhat due to two surgical procedures since my late 20’s , people have a right to question this issue as I was traditionally camera shy……My name is spelled “Jeanne” but has historically been mispronounced by family and other Texans as “Jeannie”.

  2. Well, I was introduced to You, by You, Yourself, during a meeting
    of MENSA in Austin Texas a few decades ago. I think that,
    at that time, you were President of the Austin Mensa Group.
    Having had problems with persons mispronouncing
    my name in earlier years of my life, I can sympathize with
    your disgust with that problem.
    When the U.S. Army insisted that I use PAUL, I revolted but later discovered that the name PAUL was not too bad in view of earlier problems with my middle name. So, I stuck with PAUL.
    So . . . CHEERS – CHEERIO – AND – CIAO For Now!
    CLEAN LIVIN’ PAUL HIZZSELF

Leave a Reply

