The NAACP and Me

I have networked every way I could think of trying, both for educational efforts and for advocacy. Here are some of my oregon and California efforts.In Corvalis Oregon, I stayed in a womens dorm, hoping to find a safer and less expensive alternative to motel rooms. I had tried living solo in Forestville CA in the spring and early summer of 2005, only to be stalked out. I went to Canada for awhile. I ended up in Corvalis and tried to find social groups there. I met locals who were protesting the illegal war actions our country was pursuing. I met members of the Odd Fellows supporting these first Amendment rights. One member, Gene, sponsored me to present my topic at a lecture open to the public at their hall and it was announced in the local paper. His assistance was invaluable in preparing a Power Point presentation on the issue of pharmaceutical industry control of the education of the medical profession and how this prevents appropriate diagnostic inquiry. They were quite encouraging and I socialized more with their members. I saw an announcement of a Mensa group meeting. It was sponsored by a long time Corvalis resident, formerly an owner of a retail establishment. I saw the mayor (she) hug him at one event.He and his wife were active in the NAACP and scheduled me to present this issue again so I could focus on the explanation of how this failure to diagnose obstructive sleep apnea affects the black population more than others as it is more common in this group. I presented to this group in December (I believe) in 2005 and it was well received. I joined. Eventually, after more adventures I ended up in Berkeley in 2006. I joined the Berkeley NAACP and counted as my friend the active 93 y/o member, Ricky, their treasurer. I asked this group for advocacy and was turned down. I asked to see and verify the document they received by fax transmission constituting my request and this request was denied. I later learned that there may be significant funding from the pharmaceutical industry in this local group and the California NAACP organization to sponsor their activities. I had already separately tried to call the attorney they recommended, who lived in Petaluma CA, only to never hear from him. All paperwork on these issues has disappeared. There have been so many illegal 4th amendment seizures that it has been impossible to keep track.

Leave a Reply

