Did Gerry Spence know what his partner was up to?

Gerry Spence’s first book covered the issue of psychiatric incompetence.  I was impressed by this man and his insight into the medical profession. I discovered his books after another attorney recommended I seek representation from  his firm. I drove all the way to Jackson Hole Wyoming to present a written request for representation. When I went unannounced to his office, I was turned away and not allowed to enter to fill out his office forms (assuming his office has a written format). I was told I could write one out and bring it back to the office. I did this and once again was not allowed to enter the office to present my request at the reception desk. Hmmm, I don’t look particularly disreputable. I bathe regularly, wear clean clothes, speak clean English (not word salad), etc. Once again I was told to come back for an answer. The third day, one of the junior partners, identifying himself as Bryan Ulmer, came out to the sidewalk and told me that he alone could make the decision that the law firm would not represent me.  He stated that a group of three attorneys reviewed potential cases and made the decisions. He also stated that the firm would not help me locate any legal assistance.

Eventually, I left Jackson Hole and drove out of state. In a public library I went on the net and for the first time looked up Gerry Spence’s website. Why for the first time before driving many hours from Oregon to ask for representation? It had become clear that the government could track ones Internet use and I didn’t want to give these federal goons any more lead to my intentions so to decrease their ability to block. Anyway, at that time, the Gerry Spence web site stated the policy that all partners reviewed a request for representation before accepting or rejecting. Certainly, I was not told this by the man who did resemble the picture then on the Spence law firm website (then, the The Spence Law Firm LLC    Spence and McCalla.  The web site also stated that, if the firm decided not to offer representation, they would assist with locating alternative legal representation. That was also specifically stated in the document handed me by the man identifying himself as Bryan Ulmer that the firm would not do this.

Anyway, before I left the Jackson Hole area I went to a near by U S Post office and sent Gerry Spence a registered  letter (hand written as RA 316 803 900 US) including a request for representation. Back in Oregon, I got a rejection statement not signed by Gerry Spence, but by Mel C. Orchard, III Anyhow, those out there who believe Mr. Spence was on the right track re: incompetence in the forensic psychiatry profession, please get my story to him about my experiences facing the Board of Medical Examiners (now known as the Texas Medical Board) and discovering there are large holes in the education of these forensic experts that we could drive a Mac truck through to end their control of the court and sue to end the death penalty. He may also want to evaluate that partner’s allegiance to the firm or to the machine.

August 13, 2011   Today I reviewed the current Spence law firm web site and the current pictures……the man who came out of this law firm to the sidewalk to personally refuse my case identified himself as Bryan Ulmer but he was much younger than the picture of G. Bryan Ulmer III as depicted on the current web site. The man actually resembled what may be an old picture of Mel C. Orchard III (in his younger years) that currently comes up for his autobiographical info instead of the (probably) more current photo on the heading. Mel C. Orchard III was the signature on the rejection letter I received in the mail in response to my registered (or certified) letter to Gerry Spence from a near by post office. At this post office, the clerk failed to have the letter entered into the registry book and refused me info about the procedures used for this type of mail.  Could the feds be infiltrated into Gerry Spence’s office adequately to pull off a false identity? Perhaps, just be able to be in the waiting room and thus able to come out and pretend to be a member of the firm? Since Gerry Spence was instrumental in turning back the cap on punitive damages (and my attorney in Texas, Donald Patrick MD JD was an important figure in obtaining one in Texas) could their office be watched so closely as to prevent prospective clients from being considered. I sure saw enough to know that email, U S Mail, and telephone access could be denied (for me, at least).

2 responses

    1. Mr. Spence,
      I do not see a comment, only your email. Please review what I have blogged about my visits to your office. Since my case is a great one to show the increasing power of the government to subvert rights along with giving their influence to private industries, I was startled to not get access to your offices. This may be a situation where we can prove the government is blocking access to attorneys. I support your position on “tort reform”.
      Cynthia Jeanne Lee MD

Leave a Reply

